Jan 19, 2019  
2006-2008 Graduate Catalog 
2006-2008 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Doctor of Physical Therapy

“Why the Rock? The number one reason was its excellent Doctor of Physical Therapy Program. Like most students, choosing the best school was a challenging task. However, by asking myself one simple question the process was made a lot easier. ‘How would this school best meet my needs?’ After ranking various schools, every time SRU was number one.”

– Tamika Screven
Doctor of Physical Therapy

The Graduate School of Physical Therapy at Slippery Rock University offers a challenging curriculum leading to the Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) degree. The program was the third DPT program developed in the United States and is fully accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Students enrolled in the program will complete courses that enable them to deliver physical therapy to a diverse population of consumers. The program emphasizes the restoration of function, promotion of wellness and education and the reduction of disability. Graduates are proficient in the foundational, clinical and behavioral sciences upon graduation.

The program is eight terms in length and includes four clinical practicum experiences: two of these are clinical internships taken after six semesters of academic coursework. Science courses such as anatomy, neuroscience, pathophysiology and histology are taken in conjunction with clinical courses. The research component of the curriculum enables program graduates to be consumers of the scientific and clinical literature.

The primary objective of the DPT program is to prepare future physical therapists who demonstrate highly competent, evidence-based practice and professional behaviors in a dynamic health care environment. Graduates will be able to serve the health care needs of consumers and a global society while contributing to the advancement of the profession.

Doctor of Physical Therapy - Factsheet (PDF)

Graduate School of Physical Therapy


DPT Curriculum

Semester VI (Summer)

Semester VIII (Spring)