Jun 16, 2019  
2018-2020 Undergraduate Catalog 
2018-2020 Undergraduate Catalog

Computer Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments

Computer Science Department

Office: 275 Advanced Technology and Science Hall
Phone: 724-738-2040


Deborah Whitfield

Assistant Chairperson
Hongbo Zhou

Vicki Sparano

Read Seetan, Nitin Sukhija, Sam Thangiah, Abdullah Whabeh, Hongbo Zhou

The mission of the Department of Computer Science is to provide a broad based coverage of the intensive curriculum to prepare its majors for careers in a technical setting, and to provide thorough instruction for students aiming to pursue graduate studies in the computing disciplines.

The Department will actively support the University and the College’s efforts to achieve the institution’s various goals of providing broad based education, fulfilling its commitments to the community it serves, engaging in multidimensional evaluations and assessments, and ensuring the institution’s continued vitality.

The Department will accomplish its mission in an environment that will promote close and lasting relationships among students and faculty.

The Department of Computer Science offers majors and minors with four concentrions. Each concentration prepares the student for challenging careers in computing. Moreover, each major is flexible enough to allow a wide selection of other courses from the Department of Computer Science or other departments within the University. With proper planning and selection of appropriate minor or individual courses the student majoring in any one of the three programs will be able to meet his/her academic goal in four years.


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments