Feb 24, 2020  
2010-2012 Undergraduate Catalog 
2010-2012 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Computer Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs

275 Advanced Technology and Science Hall

Computer Science Department

Deborah Whitfield

Assistant Chairperson


Michael Conlon, David Dailey, Adel Fergany, Beverly Gocal, Frank Hulick, Patricia Joseph, Sharadchandra Joshi, Paul Mullins, Sam Thangiah, David Valentine, Hongbo Zhou

The mission of the Department of Computer Science is to provide a broad-based coverage of the Computer Science curriculum to prepare its majors for careers in a technical setting, to provide thorough instruction of the Information Systems curriculum while students specialize in fields of their choosing, and to provide intensive instruction for students aiming to pursue graduate studies in either Computer Science or Information Sciences.

The Department will actively support the University and the College’s efforts to achieve the institution’s various goals of providing broad education, fulfilling its commitments to the community it serves, engaging in multidimensional evaluations and assessments, and ensuring the institution’s continued vitality.

The Department will accomplish its mission in an environment that will promote close and lasting relationships among students and faculty.

The Department of Computer Science offers majors and minors in three programs. Each major prepares the student for challenging careers in computing. Moreover, each major is flexible enough to allow a wide selection of other courses from the Department of Computer Science or other departments within the University. With proper planning and selection of appropriate minor or individual courses the student majoring in any one of the three programs will be able to meet his/her academic goal in four years.


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs