Academic Catalog 2020-2021

Slippery Rock University

2020-2021 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2020

Date Event
Monday, August 10 Senior Citizens Register for Fall Classes
Mon, August 10 – Sun, August 16 Week of Welcome
Monday, August 17 Fall Semester Classes Begin at 8:00 a.m
Monday, August 24 Drop/Add Deadline in University Offices or on MySRU – Full Semester, 1st Half, 1st 5 Week, 12 Week and 10 Week Classes
Tuesday, August 25 Course Withdrawal Period Begins (“W”) – Full Semester, 1st Half, 1st 5 Week, 12 Week and 10 Week Classes
Friday, August 28 Last Day to Add with Professor’s Approval on Add Forms & Last Day for Grade Option
Monday, September 7 Labor Day (No Day or Evening Classes)
Tuesday, September 8 Classes Resume at 8:00 a.m.
Wednesday, September 9 “W” Deadline for 1st 5 Week Classes
Monday, September 21 End 1st 5 Week Classes
Monday, September 21 “W” Deadline for 1st Half Semester Classes
Tuesday, September 22 Start 2nd 5 Week Classes
Tuesday, September 29 Drop/Add Deadline 2nd 5 Week Classes
Friday, October 2 “W” Deadline for 10 Week Classes
Monday, October 5 Fall Midterm Grades Due by Noon
Tuesday, October 6 End 1st Half Semester Classes
TBD Professional Development Day
Wednesday, October 7 Start 2nd Half Semester Classes
Monday, October 12 “W” Deadline for 12 Week Classes
Wednesday, October 14 “W” Deadline for 2nd 5 Week Classes & Drop/Add Deadline 2nd Half Semester Classes
Monday, October 26 “W” Deadline for Full Semester Classes; End 2nd 5 Week Classes & End 10 Week Classes
Mon, October 26 –Fri, November 6 Winter 2020 and Spring 2021 Registration
Tuesday, October 27 Start 3rd 5 Week Classes
Tuesday, November 3 Drop/Add Deadline 3rd 5 Week Classes
Monday, November 9 Non-Degree Student Registration for Winter/Spring
Monday, November 9 End 12 Week Classes
Tuesday, November 10 “W” Deadline for 2nd Half Semester Classes
Wednesday, November 18 “W” Deadline for 3rd 5 Week Classes
Friday, November 20 Last Day of Classes (3rd 5 week & 2nd Half Classes Meet through Exam Week)
Sat, Nov 21, Mon, Nov 23-Wed, Nov 25 Final Exam Week
Wednesday, November 25 End 3rd 5 Week & 2nd Half Classes
Thursday, November 26 Thanksgiving
Tuesday, December 1 Final Grades Due by 3:00 p.m
Saturday, December 12 Virtual Commencement (Spring, Summer, Fall 2020) 10:00 a.m.

Winter Session 2020

Date Event
Wednesday, December 9 Senior Citizens Register for Winter Classes
Wednesday, December 16 Winter Session Classes Begin
Thursday, December 17 Drop/Add Deadline for Winter Session
Monday, January 4 Winter Session Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Monday, January 11 Winter Session Ends
Wednesday, January 13 Winter Session Grades Due by Noon

Spring Semester 2021

Date Event
Tuesday, January 12 Senior Citizens Register for Spring Classes
Tuesday, January 19 Spring Semester Classes Begin at 8:00 a.m
Tuesday, January 26 Drop/Add Deadline in a University office or on MySRU – Full Semester, 1st Half, 1st 5 Week, 12 Week and 10 Week Classes
Wednesday, January 27 Course Withdrawal “W” Period Begins— Full Semester, 1st Half, 1st 5 Week, 12 Week and 10 Week Classes
Monday, February 1 Last Day to Add with Professor’s Approval on Add Forms & Last Day for Grade Option
Wednesday, February 10 “W” Deadline for 1st 5 Week Classes
Monday, February 22 End 1st 5 Week Classes & “W” Deadline 1st Half Semester Classes
Tuesday, February 23 Start 2nd 5 Week Classes
Tuesday, March 2 Drop/Add Deadline 2nd 5 Week Classes
Thursday, March 4 Midterm Grades Due at Noon
Friday, March 5 “W” Deadline for 10 Week Classes
Wednesday, March 10 End of 1st Half Semester Classes
Thursday, March 11 Start of 2nd Half Semester Classes
Monday, March 15 "W" Deadline for 12 Week Classes
Wednesday, March 17 “W” Deadline for 2nd 5 Week Classes
Thursday, March 18 Drop/Add Deadline 2nd Half Semester Classes
Mon, March 29 – Fri, April 9 Summer/Fall 2021 Registration
Monday, March 29 End 2nd 5 Week Classes & End 10 Week Classes
Monday, March 29 “W” Deadline for Full Semester Classes
Tuesday, March 30 Start 3rd 5 Week Classes
Tuesday, April 6 Drop/Add Deadline 3rd 5 Week Classes
Monday, April 12 End 12 Week Classes, Non-Degree Students Register for Summer
Wednesday, April 14 “W” Deadline for 2nd Half Semester Classes
Wednesday, April 21 “W” Deadline for 3rd 5 Week Classes
Monday, April 26 Last Day of Classes (3rd 5 Week and 2nd Half Semester Classes Meet through Exam Week)
Tue, April 27 – Sat, May 1 Final Exam Week
TBD Commencement
Tuesday, May 4 Final Spring Grades Due by 3:00 p.m.

Summer Session 2021

Date Event
Wednesday, May 5 Senior Citizens Register for Summer Classes
Monday, May 10 Extended Full Summer Term Begins
Wednesday, May 12 Pre-Session, Full Summer, and Post Session Terms Begin
Thursday, May 13 Pre-Session Drop/Add Deadline
Wednesday, May 19 Full Summer & Extended Full Summer Drop/Add Deadline
Friday, May 21 Pre-Session Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Thursday, May 27 Pre-Session Ends
Monday, May 31 Memorial Day (No Day or Evening Classes)
Tuesday, June 1 Session I and Summer Term Begin; Pre-Session Grades Due by Noon
Wednesday, June 2 Session I Drop/Add Deadline
Friday, June 4 Summer Term Drop/Add Deadline
Tuesday, June 15 Deadline to Register for an Internship
Thursday, June 17 Session I Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Monday, June 28 Session I Ends, Non Degree Student Registration for Fall Classes
Tuesday, June 29 Session II Begins
Wednesday, June 30 Session II Drop/Add Deadline; Full Summer Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Friday, July 2 Session I Grades Due by Noon
Monday, July 5 Independence Day Observed (No Day or Evening Classes)
Tuesday, July 6 Classes Resume at 8:00 a.m.
Wednesday, July 8 Summer Term Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline; Extended Full Summer Term Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Thursday, July 16 Session II Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Tuesday, July 27 Session II/Summer Term/Post Session/Full Summer End
Monday, August 2 Session II/Post-Session/Full Summer/Summer Term Grades Due by Noon
Friday, August 6 Extended Full Summer Term Ends
Wednesday, August 11 Extended Full Summer Grades Due by Noon

*All dates are as of 09/14/2020 and subject to change.