Academic Catalog 2020-2021

Slippery Rock University

2019-2020 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2019

Date Event
Monday, August 19 Senior Citizens Register for Winter Classes
Sat, August 24 - Sun, August 25 Welcome Back Days
Monday, August 26 Fall Semester Classes Begin at 8:00 a.m.
Monday, September 2 Labor Day (No Day or Evening Classes)
Tuesday, September 3 Classes Resume at 8:00 a.m.
Tuesday, September 3 Drop/Add Deadline in University Offices or On MySRU – Full Semester, 1st Half, 1st 5 Week, 12 Week and 10 Week Classes
Wednesday, September 4 Course Withdrawal Period Begins (“W”) – Full Semester, 1st Half, 1st 5 Week, 12 Week and 10 Week Classes
Monday, September 9 Last Day to Add with Professor’s Approval on Add Forms & Last Day for Grade Option
Monday, September 18 “W” Deadline for 1st 5 Week Classes
Monday, September 30 End 1st 5 Week Classes
Monday, September 30 “W” Deadline for 1st Half Semester Classes
Tuesday, October 1 Start 2nd 5 Week Classes
Saturday, October 5 Saturday Classes are Held
Sun, October 6 – Tue, October 8 Fall Break – No Day or Evening Classes
Tuesday, October 8 Professional Development Day
Wednesday, October 9 Classes Resume at 8:00 a.m
Thursday, October 10 Drop/Add Deadline 2nd 5 Week Classes
Tuesday, October 15 “W” Deadline for 10 Week Classes
Wednesday, October 16 Fall Midterm Grades Due by Noon
Friday, October 18 End 1st Half Semester Classes
Monday, October 21 Start 2nd Half Semester Classes
Wednesday, October 23 “W” Deadline for 12 Week Classes
Friday, October 25 “W” Deadline for 2nd 5 Week Classes
Monday, October 28 Drop/Add Deadline 2nd Half Semester Classes
Mon, November 4 – Fri, November 15 Winter 2019 and Spring 2020 Registration
Wednesday, November 6 “W” Deadline for Full Semester Classes
Wednesday, November 6 End 2nd 5 Week Classes & End 10 Week Classes
Thursday, November 7 Start 3rd 5 Week Classes
Thursday, November 14 Drop/Add Deadline 3rd 5 Week Classes
Monday, November 18 Non-Degree Student Registration for Winter/Spring
Wednesday, November 20 End 12 Week Classes
Friday, November 22 “W” Deadline for 2nd Half Semester Classes
Wed, November 27 – Sun, December 1 Thanksgiving Recess (No Day or Evening Classes)
Monday, December 2 Classes Resume at 8:00 a.m
Wednesday, December 4 “W” Deadline for 3rd 5 Week Classes
Monday, December 9 Last Day of Classes (3rd 5 week & 2nd Half Semester Classes Meet through Exam Week)
Tue, December 10 – Sat, December 14 Final Exam Week
Friday, December 13 End 3rd 5 Week Classes
Friday, December 13 End 2nd Half Semester Classes
Saturday, December 14 Commencement 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday, December 17 Final Grades Due by 3:00 p.m.

Winter Session 2019

Date Event
Wednesday, December 11 Senior Citizens Register for Winter Classes
Wednesday, December 18 Winter Session Classes Begin
Thursday, December 19 Drop/Add Deadline for Winter Session
Monday, January 6 Winter Session Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Monday, January 13 Winter Session Ends
Wednesday, January 15 Winter Session Grades Due by Noon

Spring Session 2020

Date Event
Tuesday, January 14 Senior Citizens Register for Spring Classes
Tuesday, January 21 Spring Semester Classes Begin at 8:00 a.m
Tuesday, January 28 Drop/Add Deadline in a University office or on MySRU – Full Semester, 1st Half, 1st 5 Week, 12 Week and 10 Week Classes
Wednesday, January 29 Course Withdrawal “W” Period Begins— Full Semester, 1st Half, 1st 5 Week, 12 Week and 10 Week Classes
Monday, February 3 Last Day to Add with Professor’s Approval on Add Forms & Last Day for Grade Option
Wednesday, February 12 “W” Deadline for 1st 5 Week Classes
Monday, February 24 End 1st 5 Week Classes & “W” Deadline 1st Half Semester Classes
Tuesday, February 25 Start 2nd 5 Week Classes
Tuesday, March 3 Drop/Add Deadline 2nd 5 Week Classes
Thursday, March 5 Midterm Grades Due at Noon
Friday, March 6 “W” Deadline for 10 Week Classes
Saturday, March 7 Saturday Classes are Held
Sun, March 8 – Sun, March 29 Extended Spring Break
Monday, March 16 Online Classes Resume at 8:00 a.m.
Wednesday, March 18 End of 1st Half Semester Classes
Thursday, March 19 Begin Online 2nd Half Semester Classes
Monday, March 30 On Campus Classes Converted to Online Resume; Start of 2nd Half Semester Classes Converted to Online; “W” Deadline for 12 Week Classes
Wednesday, April 1 “W” Deadline for 2nd 5 Week Classes
Thursday, April 2 Drop/Add Deadline 2nd Half Semester Classes
Monday, April 6 End 2nd 5 Week Classes & End 10 Week Classes; “W” Deadline for Classes that Began Semester as 100% Online
Tuesday, April 7 Start 3rd 5 Week Classes
Mon, April 13 – Fri, April 24 Summer/Fall 2020 Registration
Tuesday, April 14 Drop/Add Deadline 3rd 5 Week Classes
Monday, April 20 End 12 Week Classes
Monday, April 27 Non-Degree Students Register for Summer; “W” Deadline for 2nd Half Semester Classes; “W” Deadline for Full Semester Classes
Wednesday, April 29 “W” Deadline for 3rd 5 Week Classes
Monday, May 4 Last Day of Classes (3rd 5 Week and 2nd Half Semester Classes Meet through Exam Week)
Tue, May 5 – Sat, May 9 Final Exam Week
Fri, May 8 - POSTPONED Date to be determined - Graduate Student Commencement (Masters and Doctorate)
Sat, May 9 - POSTPONED Date to be determined – Undergraduate Student Commencement
Tuesday, May 12 Final Spring Grades Due by 3:00 p.m

Summer Session 2020

Date Event
Wednesday, May 6 Senior Citizens Register for Summer Classes
Monday, May 11 Extended Full Summer Term Begins
Wednesday, May 13 Pre-Session, Full Summer, and Post Session Terms Begin
Thursday, May 14 Pre-Session Drop/Add Deadline
Wednesday, May 20 Full Summer & Extended Full Summer Drop/Add Deadline
Friday, May 22 Pre-Session Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day (No Day or Evening Classes)
Tuesday, May 26 Classes Resume at 8:00 a.m.
Friday, May 29 Pre-Session Ends
Monday, June 1 Session I and Summer Term Begin
Tuesday, June 2 Pre-Session Grades Due by Noon & Session I Drop/Add Deadline
Thursday, June 4 Summer Term Drop/Add Deadline
Monday, June 15 Deadline to Register for an Internship
Wednesday, June 17 Session I Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Friday, June 26 Session I Ends
Monday, June 29 Session II Begins, Non Degree Student Registration for Fall Classes
Tuesday, June 30 Session II Drop/Add Deadline, Session I Grades Due by Noon
Wednesday, July 1 Full Summer Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Friday, July 3 Independence Day Observed (No Day or Evening Classes)
Monday, July 6 Classes Resume at 8:00 a.m
Wednesday, July 8 Summer Term Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Thursday, July 9 Extended Full Summer Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Thursday, July 16 Session II Withdrawal (“W”) Deadline
Monday, July 27 Session II/Post-Session/Full Summer/Summer Term End
Friday, July 31 Session II/Post-Session/Full Summer/Summer Term Grades Due by Noon
Friday, August 7 Extended Full Summer Term Ends
Wednesday, August 12 Extended Full Summer Grades Due by Noon
Monday, August 17 Senior Citizens Register for Fall Classes
Sat, August 22 – Sun, August 23 Welcome Back Days for Fall 2020 - Tentative
Monday, August 24 Fall Semester 2020 Classes Begin at 8:00 a.m.

*All dates are as of 04/02/2020 and subject to change.